Microsoft Certified Power Platform Fundamentals · Free Practice Question Medium
Question 28
Sharing your app is your final step as an app creator. You will want to share the app to test the full functionality with some stakeholders. This will give them a chance to provide feedback and help you become a better app creator.
If you share an app with a security group, existing members of that group and anyone who joins it will have the permission that you specify for that group.
True or False: Anyone who leaves the group loses that permission unless they belong to a different group that has access or if you give them permission as an individual.
-
A
False
-
B
True
Reveal correct answer
Correct answer: B
Explanation
Sharing your app is your final step as an app creator. You will want to share the app to test the full functionality with some stakeholders. This will give them a chance to provide feedback and help you become a better app creator.
Prepare to share an app
To complete the following steps, open the app that you want to share in Edit mode.
In Power Apps Studio, select the File menu and then select Save as and then select The cloud.
Click Save in the bottom right corner.
After the app is successfully saved click Share.
On the Share tab, specify the users or groups with whom you want to share the app. To add everyone in your organization, type Everyone and select Everyone in Company Name. If you need to share with a large group of users, a best practice is to share through an Azure Active Directory Security Group.
By default, the user receives the User permission. If you want the user to also be able to edit the app, then select the co-owner check box. The following is a description of both permissions:
Co-owner - Users can use, edit, and share the app, but can't delete or change the owner.
User - Users can view and use the app, but they can't change it.
Consider security groups.
If you share an app with a security group, existing members of that group and anyone who joins it will have the permission that you specify for that group. Anyone who leaves the group loses that permission unless they belong to a different group that has access or if you give them permission as an individual.
Every member of a security group has the same permission for an app as the overall group does. However, you can specify greater permissions for one or more members of that group to allow them greater access. For example, you can give Security Group A permission to run an app, but you can also give User B, who belongs to that group, Co-owner permission. Every member of the security group can run the app, but only User B can edit it. If you give Security Group A Co-owner permission and User B permission to run the app, User B can still edit the app.
To notify users by email, leave the Send an email invitation to new users check box selected.
If you select to notify the users by email, everyone you shared the app with will receive an email message that has a link to the app. People whom you granted Co-owner permission for the app will also receive a link to Edit App in Power Apps Studio.
Click Share.
If you make and save changes to a shared app, the people whom you shared it with will see your changes as soon as you publish them. This can be useful if you improve the app, but it can also negatively affect users if you remove or significantly change features. Remember to create a notification plan for alerting your users of major updates.
Permissions and licensing
There is some basic information about permissions and licensing of which you should be aware:
Users and contributors need permissions to any data connections and gateways that a shared app uses.
Some permissions come implicitly with the app, but you must explicitly grant others.
If you create an app based on Microsoft Dataverse, you must also ensure that the users with whom you share the app have the appropriate permissions for the table or tables on which the app relies. Specifically, those users must belong to a security role that can perform tasks such as creating, reading, writing, and deleting relevant rows.
In many cases, you'll want to create one or more custom security roles with the exact permissions that users need to run the app. You can then assign a role to each user as appropriate.
Sharing an app is simple, and it's a great way to make an app that you find useful available to people across your organization.
A.
True. When you share an app with a security group, the existing members of that group and anyone who joins it will have the permission specified for that group. If someone leaves the group, they will lose that permission unless they belong to a different group that has access or if you give them permission as an individual.
B. True. When you share an app with a security group, the existing members of that group and anyone who joins it will have the permission specified for that group. If someone leaves the group, they will lose that permission unless they belong to a different group that has access or if you give them permission as an individual.
Discussion
Think the marked answer is wrong, or have a better explanation? Share it below — comments appear after review.
